2023 Piano Consortium

Join in on a new work for
solo piano titled, “UNSOUND,” composed by
Emily McPherson.

Deadline to join: August 31, 2023

You are invited to join a consortium of pianists in commissioning Emily McPherson for a new work for solo piano

This new work will be between 8 and 10 minutes in length. The work is inspired by text written by Austin Windau:

“The world stopped Blinking and the Silver Lodged in my Sternum–With a Crack.”

UNSOUND will not include extended techniques or prepared piano elements.

Consortium members will receive occasional updates during the composition process, and Emily invites any feedback and commentary from consortium members as she composes the piece. This will be a collegiate/professional piece in terms of difficulty. She will be developing ideas and working out passages in order to ensure that the work is both idiomatic and effective.

For questions or comments, please email the composer at emilymcpherson.composer@gmail.com. Additional details about consortium benefits, and instructions to join, are below:

About the Work:


Solo Piano
ca. 10’


August 31, 2023

Deadline to become a consortium member

September 30, 2023

First Draft sent to consortium members for review/feedback

November 30, 2023

Full Draft sent to consortium members for final review/feedback

January 1, 2024

Final Piece delivered to consortium members

Consortium Tiers:


Receive regular drafts, updates, and communication
during the composition process

Named as a commissioner on the score

Receive an online PDF: $45

Supporter (non-performers):

Named as a commissioner on the score

Receive an online PDF: $30

– Payment is processed through Paypal –

Click below to choose your tier and visit the product page

Performance Rights:

Exclusive performance rights for one year from the delivery date (January 1, 2024).

Once you’ve joined the consortium please fill out the following form for updates, consortium-related questions, and communication:

Current Consortium Members: