2022 Snare Drum Consortium

Join lead commissioner,
Malcolm Taylor,
in a new work for
solo snare drum and
fixed media playback
composed by
Emily McPherson.

Deadline to join: August 15, 2022

You are invited to join a consortium of percussionists in commissioning Emily McPherson for a new work for solo snare drum and fixed electronic playback.

This new work will be around 6 minutes and will include an electronic playback clip that can be playable through a phone. The work is inspired by the sounds from my electric baseboard heater that produces seemingly random ticks and clicks. The performer acts out the aftermath of the flight of Icarus in a modern-day setting. A craftsperson working at their bench trying to figure out why the wings didn’t work.

Icaria will be a performance art piece with some theatrical elements that will treat the setup as a workstation. You will need a phone (for playback purposes only), a lamp, a table, a snare drum, and striking implements.

Consortium members will receive occasional updates during the composition process, and Emily invites any feedback and commentary from consortium members as she composes the piece. Emily will also work closely with Malcolm Taylor in developing ideas and working out passages in order to ensure that the work is both idiomatic and effective.

For questions or comments, please email the composer at emilymcpherson.composer@gmail.com. Additional details about consortium benefits, and instructions to join, are below:

About the Work:


Solo Snare Drum and fixed media playback
(available through phone speakers)
ca. 6’


August 15, 2022

Deadline to become a consortium member

September 1, 2022

First Draft sent to consortium members for review/feedback

October 31, 2022

Full Draft sent to consortium members for final review/feedback

November 15, 2022

Final Piece delivered to consortium members

Consortium Tiers:


Receive regular drafts, updates, and communication
during the composition process

Named as a commissioner on the score

Receive an online PDF: $35

Supporter (non-performers):

Named as a commissioner on the score

Receive an online PDF: $20

– Payment is processed through Paypal –

Click below to choose your tier and visit the product page

Performance Rights:

Exclusive performance rights for one year from the delivery date.

Once you’ve joined the consortium please fill out the following form for updates, consortium-related questions, and communication:

Current Consortium Members:

Malcolm Taylor

Kyle Flens

Andrew Grossman

Gage Kroljic

Jordan Nielson

Bella Scotti

Andrew Schwartz

Andrew Simmons

Corey Sittinger

McKenzie Squires

Mariah Taller

Karlyn Viña

Zachary Wilson